The Seven Wonders

The Seven Wonders is an ongoing series of collaborative works based on seven spectacular landmarks from the Derbyshire Peak District. Comprising a series of drawings and paintings created by the artist Paul Evans – accompanied by poems by James Caruth, Matthew Clegg, Mark Goodwin, Rob Hindle, Chris Jones, Fay Musselwhite and Alistair Noon – this series resurrects a poetic theme revisited a number of times throughout the 16th and 17th centuries, most famously by Thomas Hobbes in De Mirabilibus Pecci: Being the Wonders of the Peak in Darbyshire, published in 1636.

The Seven Wonders paintings are now available to purchase in a series of signed, limited edition artist’s prints – please visit our online shop for details. The Great Humilities, a boxed edition comprising twelve prints from The Seven Wonders and Cells paintings (Evans’ 2007 collaboration with Chris Jones) and twelve poems by Caruth, Clegg, Goodwin, Hindle and Jones is also currently available to purchase from our online shop. The box has been produced in a strictly limited (signed and numbered) edition of 10 and is priced at £59 (plus P&P).

Paul Evans is a contemporary artist whose practice encompasses a number of different styles of drawing and painting. His work appears on the following sites: Paul Evans, Origin09, Origin011 and Osteography.

The Seven Wonders was first exhibited at Cupola Contemporary Art, Sheffield, in April 2010. All drawings and paintings on this website have been photographed by Ian Gracey.